top of page
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Peters

Holding up in the holidays

Week 7


I am getting into a habit of eating in at the café, so I don’t use plastic cutlery. It has also been exciting to talk to the operations manager at the café where I work and be included in their discussion on how they can be more eco-friendly. Because of these discussions, they are now trialing a new muffin cabinet, so we won’t need to wrap the muffins in plastic glad wrap. Sometimes it’s the small wins.

This again shows the power of social diffusion and the power of liking as influence which were both used to implement this change (Cialdini & Goldstein, 2003)


Sometimes it's the small wins.

It is now the university term holidays and it can be hard to find the motivation sometimes. It would much easier if I just didn’t care about my consumption choices, but I do now. So, I will keep going until I find my motivation again.

It was exciting to see this article in The Press today. It shows that the sustainable movement is becoming more mainstream.

It still has a long way to go, there are only three places mentioned in the article and it will take supermarkets to make it fully mainstream. However, it is still encouraging to see this movement grow.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page